WCPEC-7 Awards


Nomination Deadline: February 15, 2018


About the Award

The International Advisory Committee for the WCPEC will present the 2018-WCPEC Award for advancement of photovoltaic science and technology on occasion of the 7th World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion with co-sponsorship of the IEEE Electron Device Society, European Commission, and the PVSEC Advisory Committee, Japan.

The WCPEC Award Committee is now inviting nominations for the Award which will be awarded at the WCPEC-7 in Hawaii. Nominations can be made by any member of the photovoltaic technical community with the nomination form* that clearly states the nominee’s qualification, achievements, and contributions (200 words or less) and brief vitae to be forwarded to wcpecaward@wcpec7.org.

Individuals nominated for the WCPEC Award must have promoted global cooperation across international communities, in particular between Europe, Asia-Pacific, and the Americas. Additionally, the candidate must have fulfilled one or more of the following criteria:

1. Made a highly significant achievement with contribution to the development of new PV material and/or

     new device;

2. Made a recognized contribution to developing new PV systems and/or enhancing the PV industry;

3. Demonstrated both outstanding PV-technology leadership to-date and the potential to lead the global   

PV research, education, industry, and/or deployment efforts in the coming decade.The Award Chairs will distribute a list of potential candidates to all the active members of the Award Committee which was organized into 18 active members selected from the three societies of IEEE PVSC, EC-PVSEC and PVSEC.  Then, two to three steps of voting selections will be made to reach the final selection.

The Co-Chairs of the World Award Committee will present the recommendation of the WCPEC Award Committee to the WCPEC Executive Committee for approval.  After approval, the Chairs will notify the Award Winner.

* Nomination forms can have multiple nominators or nominators can submit separate forms.


Award Package

The WCPEC Awardee will receive an engraved plaque with a prize and will be invited to deliver a commemorative lecture at the Hilton Waikoloa Village, Hawaii, USA.


Previous Winners:

Dr. Hermann Scheer (1998)
 Prof. Yoshihiro Hamakawa (2003)
 Dr. L.L. Kazmerski (2006)
 Prof. Masafumi Yamaguchi (2014)


Questions? Contact the Awards Chair wcpecaward@wcpec-7.org


PVSC Awards

Latest News

Technical Sponsors

Media Partners