WCPEC-7 Awards


Prof. Takahiro Wada from the Department of Materials Chemistry at Ryukoku University in Shiga, Japan,  will receive the 2018 PVSEC Award “For his outstanding contributions to photovoltaic science and technology development.”

Takahiro Wada has been one of the world’s leading researchers in polycrystalline thin film solar cells. He entered the field of photovoltaic science with the development of CuInSe2 solar cells in 1991. He then served as a project leader of high-efficiency CIS solar cell research at Matsushita Electric (Panasonic) from 1991 to 1998. He has made many substantial contributions to fabrication and characterization of high-efficiency CIS solar cells, including several novel techniques to improve energy-conversion efficiency. Wada achieved conversion efficiency of about 18% by using originally developed composition-control technology in 1996. His team found that a MoSe2 layer formed at the interface between the CIS absorber and the Mo back electrode in CIS solar cells, and that the MoSe2 layer improved solar cell characteristics. He is currently studying on materials and processing of various kinds of Cu chalcogenide thin film solar cells, such as Cu(In,Ga)Se2, Cu2ZnSnS4 and Cu2SnS3 by combining experimental and theoretical approaches. Outside of his research, Wada has served as program chair of PVSEC 21 (2011, Fukuoka, Japan) and organized PVSEC-27 (2017, Otsu, Japan). He is a fellow of The Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP), and a chair of the Professional Group of Multinary Compounds and Solar Cells in JSAP.

Prof.  Wada studied at Osaka University, receiving a BSc and MSc in 1976 and 1978, and his PhD in 1986. He worked at Matsushita Electric (Panasonic) from 1978 to 1998, when accepted a position at Ryukoku University, where he continues his research.

Prof. Wada will deliver his PVSEC Award acceptance talk on Tuesday June 12 at 18: 30 during the Conference Outstanding Technical Achievements Awards Ceremony (Monarchy Ballroom).


Prof. Donghwan Kim from the Korea University, will receive the 2018 PVSEC Award “For his outstanding contributions to photovoltaic science and technology development.”

Prof. Kim has been working on photovoltaics since he got his Ph.D at Stanford University in 1993 with the research work on p-type doping of CdTe thin films for solar cell application. He continued to work on CdTe thin-film solar cells by electrodeposition and demonstrated efficiencies over 12% which was reported at the 1st WCPEC in Hawaii in 1994. Since he joined the Korea University in 1995, he worked on nano-hybrid solar cells including CdS and CdTe nanorods. Currently, his main research area is high-efficiency Si solar cells. His group achieved cell efficiencies higher than 22% with an advanced cell structure called Tunnel Oxide Passivated Contact (TOPCon) and Amorphous Silicon Emitter Tunnel Oxide Back contact (ASETOB), and 23% on perovskite/Si tandem structure. He authored over 220 peer-reviewed international journal papers over the last 20 years and over 80 patents.

He worked as the president of Korean Photovoltaic Development Organization (KPVDO), a semi-government organization for planning and managing the national solar R&D program from 2004 through 2008 (five years) and laid a foundation for Korea PV research and technology level of today. He was the general chair of the 19th International Photovoltaic Science and Engineering Conference (PVSEC-19) held in Jeju, Korea during November 9 through 13, 2009 that had over 1,300 attendees worldwide. As a leader in Korean PV society, he contributed to strengthening the international collaborative network, especially for PVSEC community since he served as the summary speaker at Korea-Japan Joint Workshop on PV which was held in Busan in 1995. Dr. Kim is a founding member for Korean Photovoltaic Society (KPVS) which was inaugurated in 2012 with more than 500 active members. He is now the president of KPVS and actively working for magnifying the PVSEC community using KPVS as a platform.

Prof. Kim will deliver his PVSEC Award acceptance talk on Tuesday June 12 at 18:45 during the Conference Outstanding Technical Achievements Awards Ceremony (Monarchy Ballroom).


About the Award

The PVSEC Award Committee is now inviting nominations for the above Award which will be awarded at the WCPEC-7 in Hawaii. Nominations can be made by any member of the photovoltaic technical community with a nomination letter including 200 words recommendation reasons on his or her key achievements with contributions and brief vitae sent to pvsecaward@wcpec7.org.


Award Package

The winner of the PVEC Award will receive an engraved plaque and will be invited to deliver a commemorative lecture at the Hilton Waikoloa Village, Hawaii, USA.


Rules & Eligibility

  • The person who has been devoting oneself to the progresses of Photovoltaic (PV) Science and Engineering, the growth of PV Industrial Technology and Promotion of PV for many years.
  • The Award Chairman will distribute a list of potential candidates to the PVSEC Award Committee. Then, two to three steps of voting selections by the PVSEC Award Committee will be made to reach the final selection.
  • The Chair of the World Award Committee will present the recommendation of the PVSEC Award Committee to the PVSEC Executive Committee for their approval. After approval, the Chair will then notify the Award Winner.

    Questions? Please contact pvsecaward@wcpec7.org.

PVSC Awards

Latest News

Technical Sponsors

Media Partners